A Traffic Lawyer Can Help You Fight Tickets and DMV Points
For every traffic violation you are convicted of, DMV points will be added to your driving record. Accumulating a significant amount of points within the two year period that they are kept on your record can lead to suspension of your license as well as probation. However, there are ways to reduce your points including maintaining a good driving record for a year or attending driving school. Another option is to fight a traffic violation such as a speeding ticket. David Cardon has over two decades of experience as a traffic attorney in Virgina Beach, VA. Mr. Cardon can apply his extensive knowledge of Virginia law to help you prevent points from being added to your record.
How does the DMV Demerit Point System Work in Virginia?
When you are convicted of traffic offenses in Virginia, the DMV assigns a certain number of demerit points for each offense, depending on the severity of the offense. The following are a list of just some of the traffic offenses grouped together by the number of demerit points assigned:
Four Point Violations
- Speeding 10-19 mph above posted speed limit
- Driving the wrong way on a one-way street
- Improper signal
- Following too closely
- Failure to obey railroad crossing signal
- Improper backing
- Failure to obey highway lane markings
- Failure to obey a traffic signal
- Failure to yield right of way
Three Point Violations
- Speeding 1-9 mph above posted speed limit
- Speeding generally
- Drinking while operating a vehicle
- Improper passing
- Failure to obey highway signs
- Driving without a license in possession
- Driving without lights
- Improper U-turn
What are the Consequences of Accumulating DMV Points?
If you are 18 years of age or older, the DMV takes the following actions depending on the number of demerit points you accumulate within a given time period:
Eight (8) demerit points in twelve (12) months or twelve (12) points in twenty-four (24) months: The DMV sends you an advisory letter giving you notice of what can happen to your driver's license if you get any more demerit points.
Twelve (12) demerit points in twelve (12) months or eighteen (18) points in twenty-four (24) months: You are required to take a driver improvement course within 90 days. If you fail to complete the course within 90 days, your driving privilege will be suspended until you do.
Eighteen (18) demerit points in twelve (12) months or twenty-four (24) points in twelve (12) months: You lose your diving privilege for 90 days. You must also complete a driver improvement course before your driving privilege will be restored. You will be placed on probation for six (6) months.
What Happens if a Violation Occurs During Probation?
If you are convicted of driving offenses while you are on probation, your license will be suspended. The suspension period depends on the number of demerit points assigned for the traffic violation. For a three (3) point violation, you receive a 45-day suspension. For a four (4) point violation, you receive a 60-day suspension. For a six (6) point violation, you receive a 90-day suspension.
With diverse case experience and valuable resources, David Cardon can provide you with reliable legal counsel and a strong defense.
How do I reduce DMV demerit points?
There are two ways. First, maintain a good driving record for at least a year. You automatically receive one safe driving point for every year that you have no traffic violations. Second, you could voluntarily attend driving school. Completing driving school will give you five (5) safe driving points. Driving school is offered at numerous locations around the state, costs up to $75, and lasts eight (8) hours. Check with your local DMV branch office for a list of driver improvement school locations.
Fighting For Your Best Interest
With diverse case experience and valuable resources, David Cardon can provide you with reliable legal counsel and a strong defense. If you have received a traffic ticket, contact us online or by phone at (757) 306-9060 before taking any other action.