A DUI charge can have serious implications for you and your family, so you need a knowledgeable, strategic defense attorney on your side.
DUI lawyer David A. Cardon can help you build a strong defense to get your charges dismissed or reduced so you can move on with your life.
Here's how our Virginia Beach, VA, law firm serving Hampton Roads can help you achieve the best possible resolution to your case...
Is Mr. Cardon an attorney that past clients recommend?
"David, thank you very much for your services in my recent DUI case. I appreciate your courtesy and professionalism. Your knowledge, expertise, and kindness were of great comfort during that unpleasant experience. If I am ever in a position to refer someone to you, I will not hesitate."
Reach Out to Cardon Law Now
Driving under the influence can have significant ramifications on your life, including loss of your driver's license, hefty financial responsibilities, and potential jail time. As your lawyer, David A. Cardon will use his resources, criminal defense knowledge, and understanding of Virginia DWI laws to help minimize the impact your case will have on your life.
Call our Virginia Beach practice at (757) 620-3283 today to speak to a lawyer who has helped many clients in need. We encourage anyone in greater Hampton Roads in need of an attorney to contact us right away.
How can attorney help me?
Your First Time Driving under the Influence
Even if this is your first DUI offense, the penalties can be harsh, and a criminal defense attorney can make all the difference in helping you avoid a significant loss of time, money, and freedom.
In Virginia, a DUI first offense is a class one misdemeanor. The punishment is loss of your driver's license in Virginia for one year, up to a $2500 fine, court costs, and a sentence of up to one year in jail. You will also be required to install an ignition interlock system in your car that will make sure you can not turn your car on if you have been drinking alcohol. The judge can issue a restricted driving permit to you if you agree to take and complete the Alcohol and Safety Program (ASAP).
The cost of the ASAP program is around $350. The scope of the restricted driving permit varies; however, usually it allows 1. driving to, from, and during work, 2. to and from school, 3. to and from the ASAP program, 4. to and from scheduled medical appointments, 5. transportation of minor child to and from daycare or medical appointments, 6. transportation of elderly parents to and from medical appointments, 7. to and from a religious service once and week, 8. to and from jail if ordered by the judge, and finally, 9. to and from the ignition interlock service provider.
Attorney David Cardon in Virginia Beach will evaluate the evidence in your case to build a sound defense that will serve your best interests.
Consequences For Multiple Offenses
Our Virginia Beach criminal defense practice has summarized the punishments you can receive under Virginia law if you are convicted of driving while intoxicated more than once:
|0 to 5 years after 1st DUI||5 to 10 years after 1st DUI|
- Second Offense - (committed within five years of 1st DUI)
- The fine ranges from $500 to $2500. The judge must sentence you to jail for a mandatory 20 days to a maximum of one year. Your license to drive will be revoked for three years. For the first year, the judge can not grant a restricted license. For years two and three, the judge can grant a restricted license with the requirement of ignition interlock installation on your car for at least one year.
- Second Offense (committed between five and ten years of 1st DUI)
- The fine ranges between $500 and $2500. The judge must sentence you to jail for a mandatory ten days up to a maximum of one year. The judge has the power to suspend all but 10 days of the jail time imposed. Your license to drive shall be revoked for three years. The judge has the power to issue a restricted driving permit after four months of revocation if you (1) install an ignition interlock system in your car, and (2) complete the ASAP program.
- Third Offense within five years of a prior offense
- The punishment is a Class 6 felony. Up to five years in prison with six months mandatory. Driver's license revoked.
- Third or Subsequent Offense within five to ten years of prior offense
- The punishment is a Class 6 felony.Up to five years in prison with ninety days mandatory. Driver's license revoked.
- Fourth or Subsequent Offense within ten years of prior offense
- The punishment is a Class 6 felony Up to five years in prison with one year mandatory.
When should I start looking for an attorney?
Book a Consultation with an Attorney Today
David A. Cardon is a lawyer who has dedicated over two decades to providing exceptional criminal defense representation. He can evaluate your case to build a sound defense that will serve your best interests.
If you have been arrested on a DUI (DWI) charge, call our Virginia Beach practice at (757) 620-3283 as soon as possible.
Is Mr. Cardon the right attorney for me?
"I felt in my heart to take a moment to thank you for all that you did for me through my difficult time in need. You were gracious in every way. I will certainly and gladly recommend you to friends and family in the future."
What if there was a minor present in the vehicle when I was arrested?
In Virginia, if you were driving drunk while a child 17 years old or younger was in the vehicle with you, you will receive a mandatory five days in jail, fined an additional $500 to $1000, and sentenced to perform 40 hours of community service. If you are convicted a subsequent time, you must complete 80 hours of community service.
What if my BAC was under .08?
BAC is just one aspect of a DUI. If the influence of any substance in any amount is impairing your ability to drive safely, you can be charged with a DUI under Virginia law.
Can I refuse to take a BAC test?
Until you are arrested, you can refuse a BAC test without penalty. However, refusing a BAC after you have been arrested will result in being charged with violating the implied consent laws of the state of Virginia. The first time you refuse a BAC test under these circumstances, you will have your license suspended for a year. Subsequent DUI charges accompanied by refusals to take BAC tests result in increasingly serious misdemeanor charges and a three-year license suspension. Violating implied consent is a separate charge that your lawyer can help you fight.
David A. Cardon is an attorney practicing traffic, criminal, and personal injury law for over 20 years. He is a member of:
- Virginia State Bar
- Virginia Bar Association
- Virginia Beach Bar Association
At the heart of this practice, we are improving people's lives everyday. My clients often have their job, their assets, and their quality of life residing on these cases, which is why success is not just important, but absolutely crucial.David A. Cardon PC